What Happened in the Dark

by living-glass

My hands started to shake, but this time a little less violently,

I tried to dissipate the constant nagging worry at the back of my head.

A thud soon followed, and it was immediately night.

And in an instant it was dark, and darkness stung the tip of my tongue,

Burned the folds of skin on my fingers, bit and tore through every inch of my scalp;

And in an instant it was dark, and darkness clawed its way through every living cell within me,

Made me feel more alive than ever, sliced holes in my eardrums so I could hear screams like echoes emerging from my soul;

And in an instant it was dark, and darkness bore through me in the form of light rays,

Allowed me to smell every single dream I once had, had thorns as thin as needles that tugged at my temples.

And in an instant it was dark, and darkness was sweet, darkness was exhilarating,

Darkness was horrifying.

